Sailing into the sunset…with an eye on where I have been

In the last couple of weeks I have found myself reflecting on the learning I have done this semester in #eci831. I have also found myself maintaining some of the habits I developed such as regularly checking on my twitter feeds on Tweetdeck, updating and maintaining my Delicious bookmarks, and I watched my final project again in preparation for a chance to share with some of my wife’s colleagues at her school.
I was given the opportunity to share with a PLC at a local high school about building a PLN and using Twitter to do so. I used my presentation as a jump off point to begin discussions and I was very excited about the conversations that ensued. Some very insightful questions came out of the presentation such as: how to not become overwhelmed/filter the mass of information that can result from a twitter feed, how to use hashtags to track and search for information/using tools like tweetdeck, and lastly some dialogue around actually using Twitter with students in class as a means for sharing information (I cited my friend Reenie’s work with her class as an example that evolved over time http://lorenaleibel.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/final-project-reflection/ and this seemed to be well received). I also took the time to touch on microblogging as a place to host ideas and reflections that can be shared in the twitterverse.
I am certain that being a part of the presentation at the school will help me deepen my understanding of how all of these things can work together. I have received a followup invitation already to work with the group in January and have already been percolating on where we should go next. I am thinking about a part 2.0 to the project using Tweetdeck and microblogging but I think for now I will focus on helping this PLC to transform into a PLN.
One of the group shared a neat site entitled Stumbleupon with me and I have been playing with it for a few days (anyone else using this?).
I sent out a tweet prior to the presentation asking for some responses on twitter but realized I probably need to give my PLN a bit more time to respond and may give this another shot in January.

In the meantime, I am looking forward to recharging my battery in beautiful Hawaii over the Christmas break.
Merry Christmas and God bless.
PS – 1148 blog hits – I am so pumped!
About mickpanko

New HS vice-principal...trying to figure it all out. I would like to wax poetic but it is more like leg waxing - I think.
This entry was posted in Soliloquy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

