Digital Project

Well, here it is, my digital project that I will be sharing with colleagues at work on a Professional Development Day to help them become more connected educators.

Project link: http://www.screencast.com/t/FKPsOFZ5 (this will not embed from screencast so I uploaded it to youtube as well)

As I was thinking about what would be a useful project for my staff’s use – I came to the conclusion that because we have a small staff in our building who do not often get enough opportunity to work within our PLC that they might need the chance to build a PLN on their own time that is accessible whenever they wanted it.

I have had many conversations along the way with my colleagues about where they are at and their openness to a project like this, and while I have met with some resistance – many have been very supportive and have offered feedback along the way in my planning of this project for Professional Development purposes.

I blogged a rough early draft many weeks ago but have had to rework my storyboard for the last 2/3 of the presentation. One other potential issue I thought I was going to need to tackle was the fact that Twitter has a new face. Fortunately, I had not closed my twitter feed on my computer for quite some time and I had access to the old look.

My hope is that the staff who have given me feedback along the way can help me to bridge the gap with those who feel that they do not have time or a need for an undertaking such as this.

I have really enjoyed learning about Camtasia and feel I have just begun to scratch the surface with its potential and things I can possibly use it for. I ended up buying a license once I started playing with it and wish I had discovered it before – the ability to work across many different tools simultaneously was a lot of fun and as I discover more tools I can only see the potential increasing. (This is the after picture – pure joy – after I finally got the project finished)

The beauty of this project is that it can continue to grow and evolve as necessary.

Weird but I am looking forward to writing a blog this week about my own process and owning learning. Some habits are good to develop…

About mickpanko

New HS vice-principal...trying to figure it all out. I would like to wax poetic but it is more like leg waxing - I think.
This entry was posted in Soliloquy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Digital Project

  1. reenielarson says:

    Great project Mick – I’ll be interested to hear how your tool is used by your colleagues. Camtasia looks very cool, too bad it is quite expensive….

  2. mickpanko says:

    I used it today and had very positive feedback and some good dialogue on how to use twitter and the need to have some sort of filter in place…

Leave a Reply

