My (W)orld/your (W)orld Wide Web

“Don’t assume it will make an ass out u and me…”

I get it…I am not the sharpest tool in the shed, I am a few bricks short of a pallet, and my elevator does not go all of the way to the top floor.

But when it comes to some things in this life I do assume – the Riders will be great every year, the Leafs will be good this year, and the internet is the same for you as it is for me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In passing, I happened upon a tweet of Dean Shareski (@shareski) that linked to his blog contained this video:

The video really got me thinking about what exactly the internet was providing all of us, and if in fact the internet was discriminating among users as to what users had access to.

I guess I am the fool for thinking that the computer in my classroom at school would spit out the same search results as my computer at home with all variables being the same (search parameters and search engine). It is worrisome, that some student is not having an accurate picture painted of something as simple as the news because of where they live or because his or her parent is a “conservative.”

I guess I am the naive person who believed that the internet was the internet, the Riders would be great, and the Leafs would be good.

Okay, I can dream…can’t I?

Did you know this was going on with the internet? Is this real or some kind of conspiracy theory that I am buying…somebody help me out…maybe the Tooth Fairy can clarify for me…

What’s that you say…not real either????

About mickpanko

New HS vice-principal...trying to figure it all out. I would like to wax poetic but it is more like leg waxing - I think.
This entry was posted in Soliloquy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My (W)orld/your (W)orld Wide Web

  1. I had no idea this was going on. But thinking about the Internet now and the Internet of say …. 1999 there is a huge difference. I have diverse interests and yet often times by search results aren’t very diverse. I believe this is happening. We can call it a conspiracy of sorts I believe. What’s happening is that the original Internet whereby the power was more with the user is now shifting to, as the video shows, a gate keeping algorithm. It had to happen I suppose, considering the powers that be. I guess it’s a warning never to check that box on installation that says ‘Allow to send anonymous user statistics to help us improve’.

  2. This really hits upon our conversation tonight about community, boundaries and the ideas of open online courses and the disemination of information. How do we elect those who are in charge of these gates? Do these algorithms prevent some potential communities from flourishing by filtering people out before they have a chance to get in? How can I teach my students about being critical consumers of the information that google (or other sites) gives them if I, myself, did not realize it’s invisible happenings? Is the internet much like advertising in that it reflects back to us an image that we already anticipated or hoped to see? So many questions – thanks for sharing!

  3. Filter bubbles (as discussed in the video) are really something to pay attention to. I haven’t purchased the book, but it’s on my xmas reading list.

Leave a Reply

